NHL Awards 2022: Auston Matthews takes home Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award; complete list of winners

The NHL Awards Show returned for the first time in three years on Tuesday night. Toronto Maple Leafs star Auston Matthews took home the Hart Trophy, which honors the NHL’s most valuable player. In addition, the Maple Leafs center also won the Ted Lindsay Award, which honors the league’s most outstanding player.

Matthews led the league in goals (60) and is the first Maple Leafs player in 67 years to win the Hart Trophy. The 24-year-old star joins Ted Kennedy (1954-55) and Babe Pratt (1943-44) as the only players in franchise history to win the prestigious award. Matthews put together a regular season in which he averaged an NHL-best 0.82 goals-per-game.

Matthews ended up beating out Edmonton Oilers star Connor McDavid in a landslide for the award. The former first round pick earned 119 first place votes compared to just 29 for McDavid. New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin finished in third place with 24 first place votes for the Hart Trophy.

Here are the winners of each of the five awards that were handed out:

  • Hart Trophy: Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs)
  • Norris Trophy: Cale Makar (Colorado Avalanche)
  • Calder Trophy: Mortiz Seider (Detroit Red Wings)
  • Vezina Trophy: Igor Shesterkin (New York Rangers)
  • Ted Lindsay Award: Auston Matthews (Toronto Maple Leafs)

During the NHL Awards Show, the three finalists for the Jim Gregory Award (league’s top general manager) were announced. Julien BriseBois (Montreal Canadiens), Chris Drury (New York Rangers) and Joe Sakic (Colorado Avalanche) were revealed to be the finalists. The winner will be announced during the first round of the 2022 NHL Draft, which will take place on July 7.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: